SOLVED Custom build or IXSYSTEMS FreeNAS mini?

Fire-Dragon-DoL

Contributor
Hello!
I'm currently in the process of building a NAS for my house.

Preface
I am a software developer, while not an expert in systems, I'm totally capable of using command line, writing bash scripts, SSH and so on. I work on a daily basis on Ubuntu and spend most of my life in the text editor and shell.

I'm trying to find out if a FreeNAS mini would be a better option over a custom-built NAS.
My main concern is future-proofing without spending a fortune: I'm considering the FreeNAS Mini XL just for that purpose (8 bays instead of 4).

Right now, I have a raspberry (2b), with a WD Red attached in USB (with an enclosure that HAS A FAN, to keep temperature low). My experience with HDDs has been terrible: I had 3 HDDs (3TB) die on me, in sequence. They were all clone of the original drive, I had copies, some outdated, so I ended up losing a lot of data (it was a very sad event). So, I have backups! I currently backup stuff by using RSync toward a WD Green (same size as the WD Red) every "now and then" (when I feel it, really).

I scraped another WD Red from my old house (long story, it was running but not in use), so now I have 1 WD Red (3TB) almost full (242 GB free) and another WD Red (3TB) completely free.

Usage
  • Storing movies/photos/software
  • Playing movies/photos from there
  • Playing movies/photos remotely (I have high upload here, yay!)
  • Booting up a few local game servers, I'm mainly thinking of Factorio and Minecraft (they will be for family and friends, don't expect more than 10 people on those)
  • ownCloud/nextCloud, one of the two. I really need a "personal dropbox"
  • Some service to replicate the old feature from dropbox "public folder", basically you copy the files in the folder, right click "copy link" and you can use that link anywhere, raw (not with all those web page stuff that dropbox has around now, sigh)
  • Samba
  • SFTP
  • SSH
Budget