Corrupted GPT for 4 disk FN8.2-p1 - Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

soko

Dabbler
Hey, well I am a noob to FN8.2, and I am pretty frustrated with my stupidity attempting to fix a GPT error using random forums, I think I have made my problem much much worse and I am without a backup. I should have written to this forum first for help.

The GPT corruptions appear to be due to a power failure.

I have struggled finding clear directions on the forums on how to fix bad GPT on FN8.2 ZFS.
My existing FN8.2 comprised disks ada0/1/2/3 all 3TB, configured as a ZFS RAIDZ2.

The NAS server restarts using USB to boot, then fails to root prompt, FreeNAS web GUI is not available, ie. the server is not able to successfully start. I am at a complete loss:

Error reported:
GEOM: ada3: the primary GPT table is corrupt or invalid.
GEOM: ada3: using the secondary instead - recovery strongly advised.
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/ufs/FreeNASs2a
ROOT MOUNT ERROR:

I attempted to resolve the issue by using Gparted Live USB boot.

Before performing GPT corrections, I backed up GPT's using sgdisk -b /backup.gpt /dev/sdd.

Then using "gpart /dev/sdd", then used "r" recovery and transformation option, then "c" to load backup partition table from disk (rebuilding main). Then "w" to write the partition table corrected the primary GPT issue by copying the backup to primary.

Upon reboot, this resolved the ada3 error above, the next drive then reported with the same issue ie. ada2, this process repeated for all drives thereafter ada1 and 0.

I tried fixing the GPT on all drives then rebooting with FN8.2-p1 USB back in and I get the following error:

mount: /dev/ufs/FreeNASs3: No such file or directory
mount -o ro /dev/ufs/FreeNASs3 /conf/default/etc/ failed: dropping into /bin/sh

then I get a lot of:
/: bad dir ino 94665 at offset 8192: mangled entry
" 8704
"

Have I screwed this up totally, or is this recoverable?

Thanks

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems