Choppy video playback on WD TV Live media player

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lefty

Cadet
I'm new to using FreeNAS. I used to run a simple Linux box with SAMBA and for a few other purposes. That box died a while back (it was quite old), so I decided to build a new system (on a budget) to take its place. I also bought a WD TV Live media player that I found on sale, which I like to use to play network-stored DVDs.

Since I didn't need a lot of the other features of a full Linux system anymore, I decided to give FreeNAS a shot. In general, I'm pretty glad I made the choice. Setup was very easy, and the performance seems very good, even with fairly low-end/consumer hardware.

The problem I've found is that there is some weird latency or buffering problem somewhere between my new NAS system and the media player. The (non-HD) movies play ok for a second or two, and then get choppy and stay that way indefinitely. The only way I've found to avoid this, is to connect the NAS box to a 10/100 ethernet switch instead of using GbE.

I've searched to forum for other similar problems, but haven't found a match. I did see the posts about long browse times with CIFS, and tried some of those suggestions, but I don't think I'm suffering from the same issue. Performance in terms of bandwidth seems very good -- when copying files to/from a Windows7 machine (also with GbE), I can read from the NAS at speeds of 80+MBytes/s and write to it up to ~70MBytes/s.

My temporary solution to the video problem is to simply put the NAS onto a 100Mbps link. This works fine for me for daily stuff, like watching movies and grabbing a file or two, but is a shame when I'm doing larger larger transfers such as backups.

Has anyone seen anything similar? I'd appreciate any suggestions that would allow me to use gigabit ethernet and watch movies on my existing media player -- I'd even sacrifice a little speed at the high end as a compromise.

NAS System:
- FreeNAS-8.3.0-RELEASE-p1-x64 (r12825)