Can someone verify my configuration? Pretty please!

jschmok

Dabbler
Hi Guys,

I'm still a FreeNAS newb and am still learning. The #1 thing I've learned is that FreeNAS NEEDS RAM!! I doubled my throughput by simply adding more RAM and better CPU. That being said, I feel the system is pretty stable now. No more random network drops like I had before and I'm getting pretty consistent speeds.

I'm wondering if someone would be gracious enough to help a newb out, check out the config or something to ensure the system is running up to snuff. I would have to FEEL like its stable then find out "becuase you didn't do ___ this failed" then lose a pool or something small and stupid like that.

Let me know if anyone is willing to help take a peak! Thanks :)

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
You need to share the config before we can look at it.
Probably should post in the "Will it FreeNAS" section of the forum.

jschmok

Dabbler
Are you referring to the .db file in the System --> General tab "Save config" ? or something accessed via SSH?

yea good call, i just realized I posted in the wrong section.... Can an admin move this thread?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer

jschmok

Dabbler
Hey guys, thanks so much for the guidance and help... heres my hardware config. Huge upgrade from what I had before (4GB ram on a Athlon X2)

Asus P9X79
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz
20GB of RAM
OS - 32GB USB Stick
4 x 3.0TB WD Red WD30EFRX
HP NC550SFP Dual Port 10GbE HBA Server Adapter

Can't find how to get my RAID config so I just attached a screenshot of the volume

ada4p1, I would like to get rid of. I added it as an SSD L2ARC but later found that this SSD is so old and shitty it would slow things down. It's an OCZ Agility 4 64GB SSD lol!

Anyways, let me know what you think so far! :)

Attachments

• FreeNAS.JPG
    FreeNAS.JPG
    15.2 KB · Views: 230

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Asus P9X79
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz