BUILD Building a durable NAS, my list of hardwares, please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been following FreeNas for a while and I am quite impressed with how smart folks are here in this community. I am learning a lot.

I am a Network Engineer by trade, I have been Server and Firewall engineer before. I am blown away about the sheer amount of detail knowledge about CPU, Mobo and everything else people possess in this forum. Truly amazing.

What have I done so far research wise?

I read FreeNAS 9.2.0 Users Guide Completely.
I read a lot about ZFS and read the excellent ppt presentation. Don't go cheap on RAM! Got that.
Although I am not an expert, I know a bit about UNIX. I love vi editor!
I read a book on FreeBSD to get myself more familiar with it. I am 2 yr old Mac user and I think Mac started from FreeBSD.
I have been using HP MediaStream which runs Windows Home Server 2011 and I am quite unimpressed with it. No compatibility with Timemachine, slow, unreliable.
I managed to install FreeNas 9.2 on it but with only 2 GB of RAM I am not comfortable and I think it is running Realtalk NIC. This is my current "test" FreeNAS server.

Here is the list of Hardware I am planning to purchase to build a solid, reliable NAS drive.
Purpose of this NAS: Windows backup, two mac book pro backup using TimeMachine, Movies and personal video storage and stream, Pictures, Music streaming, etc.

CPU: Intel Intel Xeon E3-1230V3 Haswell 3.3GHz
CASE: Fractal Design Arc Midi Tower ATX Mid Tower
MOTHERBOARD: SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O uATX
RAM: Kingston KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G ECC Memory
PSU: SeaSonic SSR-360GP 360W 80+ Gold Certified ATX Power Supply

My questions?

0. Am I missing anyting?
1. Do I need extra cooling fans?
2. Do I need to buy extra SATA cables?
3. Any other suggestion?

panz

Guru
How could we evaluate a build without knowing the hard drives you're going to operate?