Brand new UPS not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcusorwen

Dabbler
Hello FreeNAS community

I just bought a PowerWalker VI650 LCD UPS (650VA/360Watt Line-Interactive) and my computer draws around ~135Watt (or ~165VA).
This is my first UPS ever so im quite new to this but this should theoretically work right?

But im having problems.
The battery is fully charged and the UPS is plugged into the computer with USB (and FreeNAS sees the UPS and i can type "upsc ups@localhost" to see it's status) and the computer is plugged into the UPS.

While still on AC power the computer runs fine but as soon as i pull the plug to the UPS it just shuts down the computer instantly just like if you would pull the plug normally without a UPS, but also the UPS is giving out a constant beep and the LCD only shows a 0 (zero) on the output side nothing else.

But if i turn the UPS on battery mode only and start the computer while on battery mode it works just fine and when i plug the UPS back into the mains again it switches normally to AC power and starts charging the battery and the computer keeps on running.

It feels like the UPS is defected when switching from AC to Battery mode or it's not doing it quick enough.
But from Battery mode to AC it works just fine.

Is it defected or could it be the PSU on the computer (Im using a Corsair 650Watt PSU, CMPSU-650TXEU) or is it something else?

Im really confused :confused:

Yatti420

Wizard
It feels like the UPS is defected when switching from AC to Battery mode or it's not doing it quick enough.
But from Battery mode to AC it works just fine.