Best way to deal with these drives/data? Is raid the most logical "backup"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chug

Dabbler
I've been running a windows server for a few years now. This consisted of 5x 3TB WD Greens. I've built a FreeNAS system, and have 3x 6TB reds available to put in it. The problem is I've used one of those 6tbs for data, so I only have the FreeNAS server running right now with 2x 6tbs and 5.5gb of available data. Looking at the calculators, this seems to be normal, and that size doubles every time you put 2 drives in. I was unable to select any option other than "auto" when setting up the pool.

I appreciate raid isn't a backup and this allows drives to fail and the ability to replace them without loosing data, but maybe I'm missing an option or not understanding fully, because if you only get half the data, surely the most logical/safest option would be to just run the drives without raid, get full capacity from the drives, and use what would of been used in a raid to have a physical backup (in a bomb proof safe in need be) Technically you're wearing the drives using them, and aside from the first point I'm not sure if I'm seeing any other benefits?

I read about vdevs and zpools previously but can't find it now typically. Can someone confirm I understand/remember this correctly the best way to add drives to a zpool is in pairs via a new vdev?

So when I get the data off the windows 6tb onto the server, there isn't any point in adding the single 6tb on its own? As single drive vdevs arent recommended?

Last edited:

wblock

Documentation Engineer
What you have now is a mirror. RAID of any type is nice because it helps avoid expensive downtime. In a mirror, if one drive fails, your computer still works. If there was only one drive, and it failed, that computer would be down. It takes time to swap in an external spare.