Best Option to Migrate Data

Status
Not open for further replies.

kranzel

Explorer
Hi All,

I have my new Freenas Corral system up and running and testing on hardware and drives are complete. Now comes the next big question, how do I get my data from my old NAS to my New NAS?

I have spent sometime looking around the forums and the general recommendations seem split between RSYNC and ZFS Copy.

However, the posts generally seem focused around moving the whole structure as is from one side to the other. My desire is slightly different.

When setting up my first freenas system, I didn't really understand ZFS all that well. Not that I am an expert now or anything. However, when I first setup my system, I just made one Dataset and have all my files under it.

EX:
Pool
Dataset
File Folder 1
File Folder 2
Etc

I then shared the whole dataset as one giant share.

My new build I have broken down into multiple Datasets and plan to divide that data accordingly.

Pool
Dataset=Media
Various media files
Dataset=General
Various Document Files

So, my question is, what would be the best solution to move selected folders/files from my old system into specific data sets in my new system?

Old system is running 9.10U2
New System is Corral 10.0.4

I will be transfering the data over my 1Gbps network.

1. Please read up on Corral before you do anything. It has been deprecated in favor of 9.10/11.

2. Do you have enough pool space on the target machine to snapshot/replicate the data as it is then move it into the new pools as you like? If so, that's a good method if you must not turn off the primary server during the migration.

3. If you can take the primary offline during the migration, I'd physically attach the current ZFS pools to the new server, rsync the data then disconnect the old pools. Far faster than copying over the network.

Cheers,
Matt

Last edited by a moderator:

kranzel

Explorer
@MatthewSteinhoff