Best Layout?

RAID Level for Multimedia?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

brando56894

Wizard
I'm brand new to FreeNAS and ZFS, I've been bouncing around ideas of different layouts in my head but I figured I'd submit to the ZFS gurus out there to help me out. My NAS will mainly be for downloading and sharing multimedia.

After reading through a bunch of stuff about ZFS, I think I have come down to my final layout:
L.png

Should I be using RAID 0, RAIDZ2 or RAID 10 for my Multimedia storage? I would like the best read speeds possible. The lone 4 TB HGST drive will be added into the Multimedia array once I get another one since I currently have two sets of mirrored 3 TB green drives. Eventually these will all be replaced with HGST NAS drives, just don't have the money to do so yet.

Also I'm not sure if this is actually considered a RAID 10 array since it seems there's some confusion regarding how one creates a RAID 10 array. When I set up my volume I selected the 4 3 TB drives in a 2x2 mirror configuration, and when I look at the Volume Status it shows me two sets of mirrors, so is this actually a correct RAID 10 array?

Screenshot%202015-01-07%20at%202.28.27%20PM.png

I don't really care about the stuff on the 2x1 TB striped drives because those will be for temporary data from SABnzbd and Transmission, once stuff is finished downloading/post-processing it will be moved to the Multimedia volume (This was formerly a RAID 5 array in my Linux PC). My jails and my system dataset are on a pair of mirrored Western Digital 75 GB Raptors (10,000 RPM), which I plan on replacing with a pair of mirrored 80 GB SSDs. I currently have FreeNAS running off of a 32 GB Sandisk flash drive, which I plan on replacing with a 16 GB SLC SATA DOM (good idea? It's only like $75). Also would a ZIL help since I will be doing a fair amount (but not constant) writing? I know to not even think about an L2ARC until I max out my RAM.

System Specs