Best Cloud Software

DoThat

Cadet
Hello Guys,

I'm new to NAS-Systems and linux-based os so i hope you can help me :)

unfortunatly i have bought the wrong case and now i can only plug in 3 hdds (3x 2tb) and i want to setup a cloud system so i can sync all my phones and the phones of my family. those 3 hdds should use a raid for best space-usage. i thought i can partitionate the drives so i can use like 500gb for jails and configs etc and use the rest of the free space for the cloud in a raid. but it seems like i have no chance to do it like that...

is there any possibility to get this done? my idea is to use an usb for the jail-memory. but i dont know how big the jail for a cloud will get. sadly i cant find any ressource what jails are and how they get used, which type of datas do they save etc. with google i just found sites which show how to install freenas and want you to buy something so they get affiliate money....

sry for my bad english, i hope you can help me.
regards,
Dimi

danb35

Hall of Famer
Jails go on the storage pool--why would you want them elsewhere? As to what they are, they're OS-level containers (kinda sorta like Docker containers) into which you can install software--the software installed in them, and the data stored in them, are entirely up to you.

DoThat

Cadet
Jails go on the storage pool--why would you want them elsewhere? As to what they are, they're OS-level containers (kinda sorta like Docker containers) into which you can install software--the software installed in them, and the data stored in them, are entirely up to you.

okay thanks for your reply. i wanted to install syncthing for testing purposes and he told me i cant install it on the same storage as my jail is.

i just created a RaidZ storage with all 3 disks, then i created a dataset for the jail but i could just pick the storage and not the datapool...