Backup, Plex, ransomware strategy

Blaq

Cadet
After my old D-Link NAS died, I decided to move to FreeNAS and seriously improve my backup game. As a noob, I would love some guidance. I have several questions, but you know there are so many facets to a NAS/backup strategy.

Goals
  • Copy data from my existing NAS drive to the new NAS
  • Set up image & file backups of my PC to the new NAS
  • Replicate the NAS to Backblaze B2 for full disaster recovery
    • Irreplaceable files only; most media files I can re-download if needed
  • Be protected against PC ransomware encrypting my backups

Hardware/Cloud
  • I'm buying a 4-bay FreeNAS Mini-E.
  • I'm buying 1 or 2 additional 3TB drives for parity. The four drives, in a ZRAID-2 configuration, will give me ~6TB total storage.
  • I'm subscribing to Backblaze B2.
  • I have one Windows 10 PC:
    • Boot drive: 210GB SSD with various partitions like C: and a Macrium Reflect rescue partition. This drive sees few, small changes.
    • D: Data drive: 2TB HDD; about 1.2TB used.
    • I currently run Macrium Reflect on my PC for image (boot drive) and file (D: ) backups.
  • My dead NAS (D-Link DNS-325) has 2× 3TB WD Red drives in a RAID-1 mirror, containing:
    • Backups from various PCs over the years.
    • A Plex media library not found on any PC. My best guess is that it's about 1 TB.
  • The NAS drives are pretty much full. On the backup side, I aimed for 2-month retention of monthly full and daily incremental backups.
Backup migration from dead NAS
  • The dead NAS is Linux-based.
    • I have a Linux laptop and a USB-SATA adapter allowing me to mount one of the dead NAS's drives onto the laptop and copy files to the new NAS.
    • Or can I stick the drive into my Mini-E and copy files to the newly-ZFS formatted drive?