Backup NAS Build - Please help me choose

Hi all,

I'm new to Free/TrueNAS - I have another (unRaid) server that is currently doing the heavy lifting (Emby, primary NAS, VM's, etc.). This server currently has 6TB of dual parity redundant storage - I have used around 2TB a year for the last couple of years (currently used 4TB in total)

I haven't had any issues with this, however I'm now planning to deploy a TrueNAS box to keep a backup of the primary server, taking advantage of snapshots etc.

I've thrown together a test system using parts I had knocking about and have got everything setup for TrueNAS to pull from the primary unRaid server via Rsync.

The decisions I'm struggling with now are:

Hardware to use:

The test system I've been testing with has:
  • AMD A4-3300 APU
  • 8GB (Non ECC) Memory
  • MSI M-ATX Desktop Board
This seems to run surprisingly well with the 2TB Mirror I've been using for tests...

I'm torn between actually buying a case for this and using it for real or;

Buying another 2u HP 14 Bay Server (DL380p Gen8), and fitting a H220 HBA (IT Mode) - is this overkill for my purpose?

The initial cost would actually be around the same for either by the time I've brought a case and new PSU for the 'test' system or brought the server and LSI card...

The biggest cost factor I'm concerned with (aside from HDDs) is power consumption; if I used the HP server, I have a plan to have it auto startup once a week, backup / run any scheduled tasks, before shutting down again... is this a commonly practiced method, or should I just plan to run this backup 24/7 with daily backups?

Amount of Storage to setup

Due to ZFS being less flexible with adding / expanding storage - I'm thinking maybe the best plan would be to shuck 4 8TB WD Elements drives and setup these in a RAIDz2, giving 16TB useable storage, which should be plenty for years to come...

Is this overkill?

Any other thoughts on this project / plan would be apprciated!

Many Thanks