AFP or SMB on Mavericks client?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheDubiousDubber

Contributor
I'm new to FreeNAS and I am on the verge of giving up on it entirely as I can't even figure out how to get it to work. I originally set it up using CIFS and I was able to connect to my various shares and their datasets, but didn't get much farther. I tried to install Plex plugin but couldn't figure out how to get that to work and I've pretty much come full circle as I have no idea what I'm doing. So let me tell you my situation, as briefly as I can, and hopefully you can help me out.

I have a desktop and laptop, both running Mavericks. I also have an HTPC running windows 8.1 for the sole purpose of running my Plex client. I have a quota'd dataset for each computer so that I can use a finite amount of space for backing up each machine. The rest of the volume is set to another dataset which I plan on using solely for storing downloaded media and playing that media through Plex.

I am the sole user on each machine and with the exception of the HTPC I use the same username on both laptop and desktop. So my question is it better to use AFP or CIFS? From my understanding Apple is ditching AFP for SMB 3, or already have done so for the most part in Mavericks.

Maybe most of my frustration is coming from the impossible that is 'permissions' but I can't get anything to work how I want it to and the permissions for dummies sticky is not very informative as it is for a specific configuration that does not apply to me. I've tried consulting the FreeNAS documentation, but there is so much stuff in there, but when you find the relevant information, it isn't detailed enough.