Adding drives and switching between Raid systems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike77

Contributor
I'm new at FreeNas.

(1) The first question is if it's possible to add drives to a Raid array thats's already got data on it and (2) the second question is if it's possible to switch between Raid's (1 to 5 and 5 too 6) while there is already data on the array. At the moment I have 5 2TB drives (drive1-5) that are full with data and 1 2TB (drive6) drive that's empty. Just bought a new computer housing, mainboard, memory, powersupply, and pendrive. So at the moment I'm fresh out of cash to buy extra drives and don't have another way to backup the data.

I can start my new FreeNAS with one empty drive (drive6). Afther I have FreeNAS up and running with drive6 in Riad 0 I would like to copy the data from drive1 to the NAS (drive6) and then wipe drive1 so that I can add it to the array with drive6 in Raid 0 without losing the data that I just copied to drive 6. I'll have too repeat this a couple of times untill I have them all in Raid 0. Afther that I'll probably want to change the Raid 0 to Raid 5 or 6.

Is this possible?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Read my noobie guide (link in my sig). We've discussed this topic to death, so you shouldn't even need to ask the question....

Mike77

Contributor
Read my noobie guide (link in my sig). We've discussed this topic to death, so you shouldn't even need to ask the question....

I'm sorry, but i don't understand. What's a sig?

Mike77

Contributor

Mike77

Contributor
Read the Pp presentation. If I understand it correctly the zfs system adds an extra layer to the system (drive, VDev/raid, zpool (volume)).

I believe my problem is the amount of data that has to be moved and the shotage of free disks.