Add raid card after configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

striker79

Explorer
Hello freenas community. I hope you can help me out. I am fairly new to the freenas world. My configuration is listed below.

I am having a problem with my setup. One of my drives is failing the S.M.A.R.T test and is making my array degraded. This is not the first time it has happened on the same SATA port though. This happened when I first built my rig, and I replaced the drive thinking it was bad. Now I am thinking it isn't the drive, as what are the chances of two red pro drives failing within a month of eachother. Maybe its a cable or port? I did install the firmware to enable IT mode on the mb.

If I want to test the ports, does it matter what order I plug the drives back in?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O
Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3 Haswell 3.5 GHz 8MB L3 Cache
Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC
8 x WD Red Pro 6TB
EVGA 210-GQ-0650-V1 650W
Fractal Design Node 804
CRYORIG H7 Tower Cooler

Mr_N

Patron
No, you can plug the drives in any order it wont affect your pool

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
One of my drives is failing the S.M.A.R.T test and is making my array degraded.
Care to post the results (between CODE tags) so we can take a look?
what are the chances of two red pro drives failing within a month of eachother.
Low, but it happens. Did you burn them in?

striker79

Explorer
Thank you Mr_N. I will try some new sata cables and ports and see if this continues to happen.

Robert, I did burn them in. After updating Freenas the codes are not there anymore, and everything is functioning correctly, but that drive does have a 2 under Checksum...

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
When SMART attributes look good but there are checksum errors, one recommendation is always to triple-check all cables (data and power). A bad SATA port is also a possibility.

striker79

Explorer