9.3 iSCSI target problem for ESXi ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chiem

Dabbler
My FreeNAS box supplies an iSCSI target that's used as a datastore for an ESXi box. On 9.2 everything was working fine, and I was able to reboot the ESXi box and the VMs auto-started fine.

After upgrading to 9.3, I have to go into vSphere Client after every reboot of the ESXi box and re-add the iSCSI target as a datastore. Anyone else run into this problem ?

chiem

Dabbler
This thread didn't get any responses after a couple of days, so I posted this same thread in the "9.3 Testing" forum and received a couple of responses: one from someone asking for more info, and another from someone saying they didn't have a similar problem with 9.3 and their ESXi setup. I didn't have time to look into the issue and respond further until now, and I can't find that thread anymore--it seems to have been deleted along with the "9.3 Testing" forum.

So.. now some more details:

I'm fairly new to iSCSI and ESXi, and started playing with it in 9.2.1.8. I was following a video tutorial, which I can't seem to find now, but it pretty much had me add a portal entry, initiator entry, and targets and extents, and associated them together using default values for the most part. The only thing I recall that wasn't quite default was having to enable a box under the first tab, per the video tutorial, which was probably "Enable LUC". I tested different VMs with datastores provided by NFS and iSCSI file and block extents. I also tested that the VMs came back up after rebooting the ESXi box. Everything was working fine..