9.2.1.7 CIFS Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paul Collins

Cadet
Hi,

I am having an issue with CIFS not starting on my FreeNAS system. I am a bit of a noob so please forgive me!

I have so far spent 6hrs trying to resolve the issue and found some great info on the Forums and in the bug tracking system - but I still cant resolve the issue. Some of the things I have tried - I have downgraded to 9.2.0 and that didn't work, I have reinstalled the img on to my USB that the system runs from and that didn't work either!

My set up is -

HP Proliant Microserver N54
2MB Ram
2 x 1TB WD HDD's set up to mirror in RAID 1

I have run Testpram and got the following -

Load smb config files from /usr/local/etc/smb4.conf
max_open_files: increasing sysctl_max (11095) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (11095) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
Processing section "[freenas]"
Loaded services file OK.
WARNING: lock directory /var/db/samba4 should have permissions 0755 for browsing to work
WARNING: state directory /var/db/samba4 should have permissions 0755 for browsing to work
WARNING: cache directory /var/db/samba4 should have permissions 0755 for browsing to work
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

Now I can see an issue above which relates to Samba4 - but I don't understand how I can change the permissions to 0755

Am I on the right track with this problem and if so how do I change/add permissions?

Thanks in advance

Paul

diskdiddler

Wizard
Paul, you shouldn't be using 2GB of ram, I used an N40L and an N54L and I use 8gb of ram. The nutters on this website will insist you need 17 terrabytes of ram for it to work reliably (you don't) - but 2gb is a bit ridiculous.