9.2.1.6. CIFS Refusing to start

Status
Not open for further replies.

ksman

Cadet
Used the GUI upgrade from 8.3.1 and appeared to work smoothly. However lost my plugin settings. No problem easy enough to create. However CIFS refused to work anymore.

Grabbed a new flash drive and put 9.2.1.6 and booted fine. Auto imported my volumn without any issues. Created my CIFS shares and went to the service page to to turn the CIFS shares on however i keep getting the unable to start error message.

I read the forums and saw others have this same issue with other versions and all with a variety of solutions.

Am i just overlooking something simple? Ive already rebooted both the NAS box and my laptop. I am by no means an expert on FreeNAS but i am fairly comfortable doing a setup as i have set up several older versions without any such issues. Is there any known issues that have come out since the release on Thursday?

Jul 6 15:38:36 freenas generate_smb4_conf.py: [common.pipesubr:58] Popen()ing: /sbin/sysctl -n 'kern.maxfilesperproc'
Jul 6 15:38:36 freenas generate_smb4_conf.py: [common.pipesubr:58] Popen()ing: /usr/local/bin/pdbedit -d 0 -i smbpasswd:/tmp/tmp1lVgdW -s /usr/local/etc/smb4.conf -e tdbsam:/var/etc/private/passdb.tdb
Jul 6 15:38:36 freenas notifier: winbindd not running? (check /var/run/samba/winbindd.pid).
Jul 6 15:38:36 freenas notifier: smbd not running? (check /var/run/samba/smbd.pid).
Jul 6 15:38:36 freenas notifier: nmbd not running? (check /var/run/samba/nmbd.pid).
Jul 6 15:38:36 freenas notifier: Performing sanity check on Samba configuration: FAILED

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Personally I would have upgraded from 8.3.1 -> 9.2.0 -> 9.2.1.x.

Off the top of my head I don't know of anything that would cause this.