8.0.3-RC1-x64 - View Disks screen incorrectly displays disks

Status
Not open for further replies.

z3k3

Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
5
Hello,

I'm not 100% if this is a bug, or just an oddity, so posting here. My apologies if this is the wrong area.

After a fresh install from 8.0.1 and importing the backup config, all systems are GO. Except under the View Disks tab where the disks are displayed as such:

ID 1 = ad0 = Serial Unknown, Identification Unknown
ID 2 = ada0 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)
ID 3 = ada1 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)
ID 4 = ada2 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)
ID 5 = ada3 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)

This is displaying incorrectly as under 'zpool status' tab, or by running zpool status pool0 command at shell it shows all the disks correctly.

Code:
[root@freenas] ~# zpool status pool0
  pool: pool0
 state: ONLINE
 scrub: none requested
config:

	NAME        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
	pool0       ONLINE       0     0     0
	  raidz2    ONLINE       0     0     0
	    ada4    ONLINE       0     0     0
	    ada0    ONLINE       0     0     0
	    ada1    ONLINE       0     0     0
	    ada2    ONLINE       0     0     0
	    ada3    ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors


I did upgrade zpool from v13 to v15. Beyond that I am unsure how to resolve this View Disks display error.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thank you.
 
G

gcooper

Guest
Hello,

I'm not 100% if this is a bug, or just an oddity, so posting here. My apologies if this is the wrong area.

After a fresh install from 8.0.1 and importing the backup config, all systems are GO. Except under the View Disks tab where the disks are displayed as such:

ID 1 = ad0 = Serial Unknown, Identification Unknown
ID 2 = ada0 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)
ID 3 = ada1 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)
ID 4 = ada2 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)
ID 5 = ada3 = Serial (shows correctly), Identification (shows correctly)

This is displaying incorrectly as under 'zpool status' tab, or by running zpool status pool0 command at shell it shows all the disks correctly.

[root@freenas] ~# zpool status pool0
pool: pool0
state: ONLINE
scrub: none requested
config:

NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM
pool0 ONLINE 0 0 0
raidz2 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada4 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada0 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada1 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada2 ONLINE 0 0 0
ada3 ONLINE 0 0 0

errors: No known data errors

I did upgrade zpool from v13 to v15. Beyond that I am unsure how to resolve this View Disks display error.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

What output do you get when running
Code:
smartctl -i /dev/ada4
on the CLI?
 

z3k3

Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
5
[root@freenas] ~# smartctl -i /dev/ada4
smartctl 5.41 2011-06-09 r3365 [FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE-p4 amd64] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-11 by Bruce Allen, http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Model Family: Western Digital Caviar Green (Adv. Format)
Device Model: WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0
Serial Number: WD-WMAZA0914763
LU WWN Device Id: 5 0014ee 6ab1bc980
Firmware Version: 51.0AB51
User Capacity: 2,000,398,934,016 bytes [2.00 TB]
Sector Size: 512 bytes logical/physical
Device is: In smartctl database [for details use: -P show]
ATA Version is: 8
ATA Standard is: Exact ATA specification draft version not indicated
Local Time is: Mon Jan 2 20:08:17 2012 CST
SMART support is: Available - device has SMART capability.
SMART support is: Enabled

Also fired that off for ad0, the mystery drive...

[root@freenas] ~# smartctl -i /dev/ad0
smartctl 5.41 2011-06-09 r3365 [FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE-p4 amd64] (local build)
Copyright (C) 2002-11 by Bruce Allen, http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net

/dev/ad0: Unable to detect device type
Smartctl: please specify device type with the -d option.
 
G

gcooper

Guest
Ah, hardcoded device name. Interesting... Well, to fix that one can do the following on the command line (this shouldn't be required in 8.2, but I'll need to confirm):

Code:
sqlite3 /data/freenas-v1.db 'UPDATE storage_disk SET disk_name = "ada4" WHERE disk_name LIKE "ad0"'


Did your zpool originally get setup on FreeNAS 0.7 or 8.0?
 

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
1,754
That sqlite3 command won't fix it...
Export the volume and Auto Import it back from the GUI...
 

z3k3

Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
5
gcooper: I tried that sqlite command but it did not resolve the issue (and yes, this was an upgrade from an original 0.7)
William: I was able to run zpool export from the GUI doesnt work (just does nothing), zpool export pool0 from shell worked, but the GUI displays "Error getting available space Error getting total space" for all volumes and paths. If click "Auto import volume" there is nothing available to import (the disk field dropdown is blank). If I select "import volume" only ada4 is displayed.

Is there a way to clear the database's record of pool0 safely after doing a zpool export pool0 from the command line?

Thanks,

Chris
 

z3k3

Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
5
gcooper: I didn't run this before, but just as an FYI this is the output after I ran your suggested sqlite3 query..

Code:
sqlite> select * from storage_disk;
Disabled|Always On|{devicename}ad0|1|Disabled|Auto|Member of pool0 raidz2|1||1|ada4
Disabled|Always On|{serial}WD-WMAZA0895257|1|Disabled|Auto|Member of pool0 raidz2|1||2|ada0
Disabled|Always On|{serial}WD-WMAZ20081529|1|Disabled|Auto|Member of pool0 raidz2|1||3|ada1
Disabled|Always On|{serial}WD-WMAZA0895153|1|Disabled|Auto|Member of pool0 raidz2|1||4|ada2
Disabled|Always On|{serial}WD-WMAZA0894291|1|Disabled|Auto|Member of pool0 raidz2|1||5|ada3
 

z3k3

Cadet
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
5
I think I got it licked!

I disabled the afp service and rebooted.

Connected to shell and ran:
Code:
#zpool export pool0


Then connected to the freenas-v1.db and cleared some storage_* tables:
Code:
sqlite3 freenas-v1.db
sqlite> .output freenas-v1.db.manual.dump
sqlite> .dump
sqlite> delete from storage_diskgroup;
sqlite> delete from storage_disk;
sqlite> delete from storage_volume;
sqlite> delete from storage_mountpoint;
sqlite> .exit


Then in the GUI, ran auto import volume. Everything imported back in as expected, and the "view disks" now displays ada0-ada4 correctly.

Enabled afp service.

Fini.

Note: This post helped me get past the 'An error occurred !" issue I was having after clearing storage_diskgroup, storage_disk, and storage_volume tables only. http://forums.freenas.org/showthrea...turns-quot-An-error-occurred-on-FreeNAS-8-0-2
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top