4U Supermicro Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

svtkobra7

Patron
I'd like the community's thoughts on purchasing a used Supermicro server and where it may fall short. I'm aware that 2 E5-2670s are overkill, but as I wanted to use the same server for VMs, I figured this would work OK. Specs are listed below and it is listed for $1,426. I can't even determine if that is a good or bad deal as I can't find comparable servers (I'm still learning). I will be using 16 existing HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB HDDs. Better options are more than welcomed!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SUPERMICRO-...LSI-9210-8I-/381953625205?hash=item58ee35cc75

SUPERMICRO 4U 846BA-R920B
DUAL INTEL XEON PROCESSOR E5-2670 EIGHT CORE 20M CACHE 2.60GHZ
128GB MEMORY (16x 8GB) DDR-3 ECC REG
3x LSI 9210-8I

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Seems like a decent deal. Nothing special, but reasonable.

svtkobra7

Patron
Seems like a decent deal. Nothing special, but reasonable.

Do the specs seem reasonable? 2 E5-2670s / 128 GB Memory? Or am I headed down the wrong path? My last NAS (COTS) was a QNAP TVS-871 (i7 / 16GB) and I'm hoping this build will blow it out of the water performance wise (of course, that is an apples:oranges comparison, though). I should be able to just add boot drive / SSD and be good to go right?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Well, what's the workload?

svtkobra7

Patron
I can't give you a great answer there as I've never used FreeNAS before and I'm unaware of all functionality offered at the moment (I expect a somewhat steep learning curve, and don't mind putting in the time to learn).