4K drives in 8.0-RELEASE-amd64

Status
Not open for further replies.

TravisT

Patron
Just set up a VMWare FreeNAS box after using a solaris build for a little over a year. So far I'm very happy with the performance compared to the solaris box I was running.

I'm not a storage expert, but I'm using the 4k sector WD drives (3x 2TB) in a raidz pool. I just read that the 4k drives are not supported in the release I'm using. Because I'm using vmware, the drives were formatted individually with 8M blocks into vmdk files, then presented to FreeNAS as that. Should I consider upgrading to the beta build to better utilize the 4k drives? The performance is considerably better than the solaris box I was using, but if there is more performance to be had I'd be interested in moving that direction.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

jenksdrummer

Patron
Myself, I am using 4 WD20EARS drives (2TB advanced format 4K drives) - I'm using the jumper on pins 7 and 8 and they work fine - this is an "older OS" compatability setting for these drives.

FreeNAS 7.3 had the option of 4K format, and I didn't use them there and it seemed to work OK until I copied large files - but I suspect that was more ZFS related than drive issues.

Adrian

Contributor
I have just set up a BETA2 system with 4 WD20EARS drives (2TB advanced format 4K drives) without the jumper on pins 7 and 8 and with the 4k option checked when creating the pool. All seems well, and a rudimentary write then read a 20 GB file gave quite good performance:

Code:
FreeNAS 8.0.1-BETA2
HP Microserver (120 watt), 8GB memory
4 * WD 2TB EADS drives, Advanced Formatting - 4k block size (WD20EARS-00MVWB0)
ZFS RAIDZ1, set up for 4k disk block size

Write 20 GB file - 54 MB/sec
Read 20 GB file - 248 MB/sec

:)

Mike

Cadet