4 Drives: ZFS raid setup advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

TunaMaxx

Dabbler
Hello! I'm new to FreeNAS, but I'm really impressed with my first build. It's time to do a second NAS and I could use some advice on setting up the ZFS pool.

I have four 2TB WD20EARX drives, going into another HP Proliant N40L MicroServer with 8GB of RAM and an Intel EXPI9301CTBLK GB NIC.

This is a backup server, but not mission critical. Nobody will die if data is lost. :)

What are the advantages/disadvantages of

1) 3 disk raid-z1 with hot spare
2) 4 disk raid-z1
3) 4 disk raid-z2

I ask, because I remember seeing mention about performance benefits with odd-numbered raid-z1 configs, but I can't find the info anymore.

If you were in my situation, what setup would you choose?

survive

Behold the Wumpus
Hi TunaMaxx,

I don't think that hot spares really work right now, so you could toss that option. Of the remaining 2, since it's "just" a backup server I would go for capacity so I would do raidz.

Since it sounds like you have everything already I would try them both & see if you see any performance differences....or if the performance boost is worth a quarter of the capacity.

-Will

sunflashx

Dabbler
Pretty much any form of disk subsystem will be adequate for servicing a 1gbps file share.

In my case, I staggered my disk purchases between a couple resellers and a month or so of time to try and get different batches so hopefully they don't all fail at once. Samsung also does Advance RMA, so I can get a replacement disk in my hands fairly quick with nothing out of pocket. Being able to sustain a single disk failure is a risk I'm comfortable with.

I'd find out what your warantee process will be. I'd hate to be remotely dependent on the box and be driven to run out and buy a replacement disk at full price because you can't get a replacement in a reasonable amount of time.