12.0-U5.1 Cannot Successfuly Share Anything

eewiz

Explorer
Hello,
This is my first attempt at TrueNAS.
1. I installed 12.0-U5.1.
2. I created a pool "drive1"
3. I created a new group "eewiz" with "permit sudo" and "samba authentication" checked.
4. I created a new user "eewiz" with primary group "eewiz" and aux group "builtin_administrators' with "permit sudo", "microsoft account" and "samba authentication" all checked. I also checked all nine "home directory permissions" checkboxes but the "group" and "other" write permissions did not stick. They are now unchecked and cannot be checked.
5. I created a generic dataset "genericset" of type generic with user "eewiz" and "apply user" checked, with group "eewiz" and "apply group" checked, with all nine permissions checked and "apply recursively" and "traverse" both checked.
6. I create a samba dataset "smbset"
7. I edited permissions for "smbset" leaving "user=root" and "group=wheel". The "everyone@", "user@", "group@" and "group=builtin_users" ACLs were present by default. I added two ACLs "user=eewiz" and "group=eewiz" with "allow, basic, full control, basic and inherit" settings and i checked "apply permissions recursively.
8. I replied to the "start SMB" and the "start NFS" prompts. Both services are running.
9. I shared "genericset" with "NFS sharing" with "all dirs" and "enabled" both checked.
10. I shared "smbset" with "SMB sharing" using name "smbshare", "SID=S-1-1-0", with "domain", "everyone", "FULL' and "ALLOWED" settings.
11. I go to my windows 10 machine where I am logged in as the same user "eewiz" with the same password as used on the truenas box.
12. I open Network there is a new machine "TRUENAS".
13. I double click truenas and am presented with "enter network credentials. I pick "more choices" and here are the user strings that I have tried.