10Gb peer to peer connection between 2 FreeNAS server setup query

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ishak

Cadet
Hi,

Just joined the forum today as I am quite new[less than a year] to the FreeNAS operating system. I have been using FreeNAS to host my movies & Plex since September 2016 and I am thinking of a new project in mind. The purpose of the project is to achieve 10 Gb peer to peer connection between 2 FreeNAS servers so that when I am copying or moving files between these 2 servers, I can get blazing 10 Gb transfer rates.

Below is the specs of my home network:
Server #1:
FreeNAS-9.10.2 U6 Stable
Intel Xeon e3-1225v5 @ 3.3GHz
1 GB igb0 Interface 192.168.1.154
10 GB ix0 Interface 192.168.100.2[via X540T1 NIC PCIe]

Server #2:
FreeNAS-9.10.2 U6 Stable
Intel Xeon e3-1220v5 @ 3.0GHz
1 GB re0 Interface 192.168.1.247
10 GB ix0 Interface 192.168.100.1[via X540T1 NIC PCIe]

Main PC:
Windows 10 with on board 1 Gigabit LAN

TP-Link 5-Port Gb Desktop Switch

The PC, Server #1 & Server #2 are currently connected locally via the switch. I have recently installed the X540T1s and peer connect the servers together.
My intention is to be able to use the main PC to do 10 Gb file transfer speed between the 2 FreeNAS Servers. However, as per my test transfers turned out, I am still stuck with 1 Gb transfers. File transfers are still utiilzing the re0 and igb0 ports; there is no activity on both ix0 ports of each servers. =(

Can someone be kind enough to guide me how I should go about doing this properly, without buying a 10 Gb switch?

Is there any software tweaks on FreeNAS that allows prioritizations of the ix0 connections over the 1 Gb connections when detecting file transfers between the servers?
Do I have to get a X540T2 for my PC so that all 3 devices are on the same network segment with the same 10 Gb ports?
Are there any other options that can be considered?

Thank you in advance for any ideas and solutions offered.

Best Regards
Ishak

Pezo

Explorer