ZRAID for 50+ TB Storage

Status
Not open for further replies.

helenskelter

Cadet
Hello FreeNAS Community,

I am considering switching to FreeNAS as my primary storage. I am concerned about the viability of ZFS ZRAID for large volumes. Up to this point, I have relied entirely on hardware RAID, so while I understand the principles of ZFS and ZRAID, I have no hands on experience.

Currently, I have a 24 bay SAS enclosure. It is half full of 12 WE 4TB RE drives in RAID 6 with a hot spare (36TB). I am using an Areca Arc-1882x (LSI chipset). The Areca allows on-line expansion and runs scheduled parity/corruption checks. The system runs file sharing for VMs which then distribute services to users, all over 1GBE.

Over the next year or so, I plan to expand to 2 24 bay SAS enclosures, adding sets of 12 drives as needed. I would like to upgrade to 10GBE and primarily use ISCSI to distribute storage to VMs.

I would like to use the purchase of the 2nd SAS enclosure as an opportunity to migrate to FreeNAS. My primary concern is performance/cost. The ARC-1882x can effectively saturate a 10GBE line (with and without write cache) and can do so without my spending $$$ on additional RAM. ZRAID's 1GB RAM to 1TB storage ratio becomes an issue at my next 3 expansion points (72TB, 108TB, 144TB), assuming that ratio is still valid at those capacities.

So my alternatives, as I see them are to use FreeNAS ZFS on top of the hardware RAID, adding 36TB RAID 6 volumes as needed for expansion, or set the RAID card to passthrough/JBOD and add disk sets of 12 in ZRAID3 as needed, with an eventual 128GB of RAM. So my question is: what does the community advise in this situation? Any experience/pointers/critiques?

A secondary question: if I do go with the hardware RAID, how would ZFS handle a volume that increases in size? I can buy drives in sets of 12 but it's nice to add them incrementally, building the additional RAID6 arrays in chunks of 2-4 drives.