SOLVED X10SL7-F SAS Controller is not operational

tc9999

Dabbler
Hello,

my old X10SL7-F stopped working so bought a replacement on eBay. When I connect my SATA drives to the SAS ports none of them are being detected so figured I needed to flash the LSI 2308 controller into IT mode, but I am unable to get into the LSI config utility (no option comes up during boot) and when I try to update the firmware it says: "Controller is not operational. A firmware Hostboot is required."

I am quite new to this so any idea what I'm doing wrong or is the controller faulty?

JPS1 has a jumper installed on the mobo and "Load Onboard SAS Option ROM" in the BIOS is enabled. My system:

Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1246 v3 @ 3.50GHz
Supermicro X10SL7-F
32GB RAM
7 WD Red 6 TB
FreeNAS-11.2-U5

Thanks for the help

IMG_7363.jpeg

IMG_7364.jpeg

IMG_7365.jpeg

EDIT: Motherboard was faulty, received a replacement and working now.

Last edited:

Nick2253

Wizard
Are you sure that it was the old card that stopped working, and not something on the motherboard?

I would try the card in a couple different PCIe slots to be sure.

joeschmuck

Old Man
I would try the card in a couple different PCIe slots to be sure.
The SAS controller is built on the motherboard.

I think you are using an old IT flash, but read this thread and it may offer you some needed help.

Nick2253

Wizard

joeschmuck

Old Man
Thanks, that's the one I downloaded (20.00.07.00), so not sure what's wrong.
Your screen shot looks like the firmware didn't actually update and was still showing 20.00.00.00. Can you confirm that when you boot the machine, the screen now says the proper version?

Looks like you flashed it using the UEFI files, try the DOS version. If you can't get the SAS address then maybe you could contact someone who has this motherboard and ask for advice. I'm pretty sure it's a firmware issue. And is this the same issue on your original motherboard? (I'm assuming you are using the second motherboard you bought).