With FreeNAS and zfs, is it better to have four 2TB disks, or eight 1TB disks. Or does it matter?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just wondering. Thinking of building a system. The case has 8 drive bays. I have the motherboard/proc and ECC memory in mind already.

Also, if I just get four 1TB drives at first, then later on buy four more, how easy is it to add to an already configured system? Will it just accept the new drives automagically (lol), or will everything have to start from scratch again?

As you can see, I'm a total noob.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I recommend you read Cyberjock's guide to ZFS. Link is on my sig.

mjws00

Guru
It's better to have eight 6TB drives ;)

I'll give you the cliff notes if you continue read the guide anyway. You could infact add the next 4 1TB drives as a second vdev. It's not as "automagic" or flexible as some systems. ZFS lets us add easily, but not subtract or reconfigure. 8 spindles also has more iop and throughput potential, but both are likely limited by your NIC.

Good luck.

DaNilePharaoh

Explorer
Just wondering. Thinking of building a system. The case has 8 drive bays. I have the motherboard/proc and ECC memory in mind already.

Also, if I just get four 1TB drives at first, then later on buy four more, how easy is it to add to an already configured system? Will it just accept the new drives automagically (lol), or will everything have to start from scratch again?

As you can see, I'm a total noob.

read Cyberjock's guides, they are very well made and you will gain all the knowledge you need
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/hardware-recommendations-read-this-first.23069/
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ning-vdev-zpool-zil-and-l2arc-for-noobs.7775/

Raidz 3, 5 disks
Raidz2 4, 6 disks
is the recommended initial setup