Windows backup machine

Status
Not open for further replies.

LM3

Dabbler
I am currently using 5 hard drives for file storage in my Windows machine.
(2) TOSHIBA DT01ACA300 : 3000.5 GB [1/1/0, pd1]
(3) Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632 : 2000.3 GB [2/2/0, pd1]
(4) TOSHIBA DT01ACA300 : 3000.5 GB [3/2/0, pd1]
(5) Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632 : 2000.3 GB [4/2/0, pd1]
(6) TOSHIBA DT01ACA300 : 3000.5 GB [5/2/0, pd1]

I back these up manually via USB 3.0 SATA connection. Very time consuming and not always done timely.

I have a core 2 duo quad core machine that is not in use.

What I am thinking about is putting the backup hard drives that I current keep in a toolbox and putting them in the quad core machine and loading FreeNas on a thumb drive, or USB hard drive, and using this as my Windows data backup.

Is is a good idea?

I am very new to FreeNas. This would also require me to find a Windows backup program capable of this task.

Inxsible

Guru
Depends. You haven't listed the specs of your "core 2 duo quad core" machine. But does it support ECC RAM? Are you planning to run any other plugins on the box?

LM3

Dabbler
The core 2 quad machine is not up and running. It has a socket 775 motherboard and does not support ECC. Don't know what ECC has to do with it. Will have at least 8 gig of RAM and an adequate power supply. Will have 4-5 internal hard drives.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Is is a good idea?

I am very new to FreeNas. This would also require me to find a Windows backup program capable of this task.
Windows has a backup utility bundled with the OS and if that is not what you are looking for, there is the totally free application from Microsoft named Microsoft SyncToy that can be downloaded here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=15155
It can be (I have) set it up on a schedule to backup selected directories. Between the two utilities from Microsoft, it is not really necessary to obtain anything else.