Will these parts work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zaloz

Dabbler
Hello, I am completely new to this and would really love to get some help from you guys with experience. I am going to build my own nas as a project. I am on budget so trying to get it as cheap as possible but still good power from my NAS. I have a list of parts I found online from a company in my country on the cheap demo used products. And I am wondering if the setup is ok or completely shit. Will appreciate any help and helpful comments.

CPU: Intel - Pentium G4560 3.5GHz Dual-Core Processor ($57.88 @ OutletPC)
Motherboard: Gigabyte - GA-Z270N-WIFI Mini ITX LGA1151 Motherboard ($145.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Memory: Kingston - 8GB (1 x 8GB) Registered DDR4-2133 Memory ($81.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate - IronWolf 4TB 3.5" 5900RPM Internal Hard Drive ($124.99 @ Amazon)
Storage: Seagate - IronWolf 4TB 3.5" 5900RPM Internal Hard Drive ($124.99 @ Amazon)
Case: Fractal Design - Node 304 Mini ITX Tower Case ($84.90 @ OutletPC)
Power Supply: Corsair - RM 550W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($119.99 @ Corsair)
Total: $740.73

Mod note: Edited to remove pcpartpicker links, as per forum rules.
- Ericloewe

Last edited by a moderator:

Dice

Wizard
Hello and welcome to the forums.
1. Are you set on using mITX or could you consider mATX. This opens up options.
2. Motherboard does not seem to support ECC?
3. Your RAM is ECC reg, unusual for this platform. Without digging further, I think you've selected the wrong ECC RAM.

....Have you studied the hardware recommendations guide in the resource section?

joeschmuck

Old Man
Your setup is missing ECC RAM which is really needed for a ZFS file system like this however some people do take a risk and choose not to use ECC RAM.

The RAM you selected is "Registered" and you will need to verify with the manufacturer of the motherboard (usually in the user manual) if you can use Registered RAM.