Will my hardware be supported by FreeBSD 8.2 / FreeNas 8.0.3?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RamGuy

Dabbler
I'm making the move from using my gaming rig for home sharing over to built my very own dedicated FreeNAS server. Therefore I need some recommendations and guidelines when it comes to FreeNAS and supported hardware as I have never used FreeBSD before.

Here is the hardware I'm considering to get for my 24/7 FreeNAS server:

Asus P8B-M, LGA1155 Intel C204 Micro-ATX motherboard
Link: http://www.asus.com/Server_Workstation/Server_Motherboards/P8BM/#specifications

Intel Xeon E3-1270 Quad-Core LGA1155 CPU

2x Fujitsu PRIMERGY 4GB 1333MHz, ECC, unbuffered DDR3 memory (S26361-F3335-L515)

LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i SAS / SATA RAID controller

8x Western Digital RE-4 (RAID EDITION) 2TB, 7200RPM, 64mb Cache in JBOD

Intel SSD 311 series 20GB SLC for FreeNAS installation

The plan is to primarily have 24/7 fileserver running Static Link Aggregation, AFP, SAMBA / CIFS, NFS, iTunes server, torrent client and FTP-server. I will be configuring the hardware RAID controller with JBOD and setup a ZFS system with my eight hard drives, but I have no idea which type would be most sufficient for my eight hard drive system?

What do you think of the hardware I have listed? How do you think FreeNAS should work for my particular system, and which ZFS setup should I pick? Might I be better of with purchasing a Qnap TS-879 Pro?

Daisuke

Contributor
I recommend you to use LSI 9211-8i with IT firmware, the only LSI working perfectly with FreeNAS.
Using the Intel SSD for OS is waste of money and resources, use it as cache and a USB stick for actual OS.
You should definitely use ZFS RaidZ2, your performance will not be affected as much as you think, especially that you will use link aggregation. Data transfer on my setup through one 1Gbit card, while using RaidZ2 on an Atom processor:

Code:
$ dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/nas/media/tmp.dat bs=2048k count=50k
51200+0 records in