Why are additional vdevs the recommended method of growing a volume?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael Hanna

Dabbler
I've been using freenas for about 6 months now and began looking into to proper way to grow my existing volume. It seems there are two methods... swap out drives for larger capacity drive or add an additional vdev and stripe it into the existing volume. It would appear the "recommended" method is adding additional vdev(s). I'm just curious as to why this is the recommended method? Is it because the risk of loosing additional drives during the resilvering process required when replacing drives with larger capacity drives or is there some other reason?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
The answer depends a little on what hardware you have. Please share your hardware in accordance with this guide:

Updated Forum Rules 4/11/17
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/updated-forum-rules-4-11-17.45124/

The general reason for adding more vdevs is that more vdevs gives you more performance at the same time that it adds storage and without the need to replace existing drives. I have done several hardware migrations over the years. One of those was when I went from a five drive RAIDz1 pool to a six drive RAIDz2 pool and another time I added a second vdev to the RAIDz2 pool. I have also migrated the drives in my pool from 1TB, to 2TB to 4TB, so that is a completely valid option also, no matter how many vdevs you have. You only need to replace all the drives in one vdev to get the additional space that the upgrade provides. In my main NAS I upgraded vdev-0 one year and vdev-1 the next year when I was going from 2TB to 4TB drives. There are many options.
If you want to replace your existing drives, if you have healthy drives, it should be no more risk than replacing a drive for a drive failure. In all of my upgrades, I ensured that I had a current backup first, but I did not loose any data.