Which tool for local backups?

ragametal

Contributor
I'm new to Truenas and I want your opinion about which tool to use to properly create a local backup of my data pool (because raid is not a backup, and snapshots are not a backup).

The backups will saved on a dedicated internal drive installed in the same machine as the data disks and will only be accessible to the root user.

I'm confused as to whether I should use local replication, rsync or use a tool such as Duplicati.

Ideally this local backup will be have versioning (incremental backup), encryption, and allow me to restore files from a non-truenas system.

I know this last requirement is the most dificult one and i can live without it but is important to me because as I would like to be able to mount the backup drive on another system and recover my data from there in case of a catastrophic hardware failure of the server. This other system will be either a windows workstation or a vm running Ubuntu.

Duplicati checks all the right boxes and I'm familiar with it but it is so incredible slow to do restores that makes me nervous about having a hardware failure during a full restore. That's why I want to evaluate other options such as replication or rsync.

This is what i have found during my research:
  1. Replication: faster, most efficient, has versinoning as it is snapshot based. But, does it copy all the data or just the snapshots? could i mount this ZFS formated drive on a linux machine and recover data from it later?
  2. Rsync: efficient, true backup, can be recovered from another machine. But, does it do versioning?
  3. Duplicati: Does everything but it's Slowwwwwwwww. Besides, why should I look for a third party software to do something truenas does natively?
So, what do you think? Would replication be the right tool for me? or maybe rsync? or am I stuck with duplicati?

P.s. I'm still planning on doing remote backups by using cloud sync pointing to a remote sftp server.

Patrick M. Hausen