What is going on

Hi all, I'm new to FreeNAS and I'm starting to get extremely frustrated. On the recommendation of a friend I chose to build a new NAS this way instead of purchasing a new symbology and I'm starting to regret it.... Hopefully you can help.

I bought the following
Fractal Node 804 case
Gigabyte H370 motherboard
LSI 9215 SAS controller flashed to IT MoDE
Intel I3-8100
8 6TB WD Reds
2 2TB Samsung SSDs
Corsair AX860 PS

Everything went together great and started fine
But when I went to create one z2 pool with the 2 cache drives is where everything started going wrong.

I couldn't do it.

All I could get is the 4 WDs connected to one breakout cable and the 2 SSDs on the board into one pool.... The other 4 that are all attached to a single breakout cable and plugged into a single bank in the LSI card still won't work. I thought maybe it was a bad cable so I swapped it out, I thought it was a bad card so I swapped it out, still nothing.

Each time it's the same thing. If all drives are showing in the UI, when I go to extend the pool to the other 4 drives my screen just goea into a loading screen and I get the errors that show up in the screenshot.

The drives plugin individually fine, so what could I be missing or what is it I'm doing wrong.

Any Advise would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 8918E6FF-4EDB-425E-8BA0-8BD215646F45.jpeg
    8918E6FF-4EDB-425E-8BA0-8BD215646F45.jpeg
    419.1 KB · Views: 198

Yorick

Wizard
Command timeout - you have a hardware issue. So first, don't store any data on anything. Forget that cache idea for now. You want to read more into how ZFS works, trust me on this please.

Move the cable with the 4 drives to the first connector. Try to create a new pool on that with them. Does that work?
Then destroy the pool, move the cable to the second connector. How about now?

If the fault follows the drives / cable, then that's where your issue lies.
If it follows the connector, then the LSI card has an issue.

6TB WD Reds