What are my options? Expand or make a new array?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jfat

Cadet
Hello, I am fairly new to FreeNAS.

I've started off with a 'noob' configuration with a pentium, and 2x3tb disks, striped with no backup. (Don't crucify me, at least I still had a backup of the important files)

Anyway, so I have just made a new setup with a workstation mobo, 16gb ecc ram, xeon and I have 5x3tb disks in total.

So my pickle is, those 5 are made up of the 2 I already had striped for storage. I am not sure on how to make a raidz configuration resulting in using all 5 disks and not have a left over that I have had to copy everything onto then finally onto what would only be a 4 disk array pool.

So what are my options?

(FYI - Currently my data can all fit on one disk-- well I can make it fit since there are disposable files I can re download or live without.)

I thought I could add the other 3 disks to my current striped array to make raidz but when I try to add the 3 disks I get the error:
  • You are trying to add a virtual device of type 'raidz' in a pool that has a virtual device of type 'stripe'.
Am I able to add 2 disks to stripe it onto 4 disks then add the final to make the raidz array?

Or will I have to copy it all onto one disk, make a 4 disk array then copy what I have onto the array, and then add the last disk?

Or what other options are there. I dont really want to be stuck with an odd drive in the end.

Any suggestions on a solution to upload all my data to the internet for free (or a small price) to re-download to my 5 disk array afterward?

Thanks in advance!

nojohnny101

Wizard
Have you read the manual and the "slideshow for noobs" yet? It seems you lack a basic understanding of vdevs, pools, and so forth. I would recommend staring there. I would hate for you to later regret not doing so by making some mistake that was easily avoidable by taking the time to do research on how FreeNAS works, its limitations, and it strengths.