Volume expansion failure tolerance

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,

I've been searching google and these forums for several days now and I can't find a straight answer to my question. I have a very simple FreeNas server setup with 2, 3TB WD Red drives configured in a mirror (no dedup or encryption). I have 2 more identical 3TB WD Red drives that I would like to add to this volume. I've read over and over that once a vdev is created, it can't be modified but that you can add more vdevs to a zvol for expansion. I've found the "Volume to extend" drop down box in the volume manager but I can't seem to find a straight answer to the question, if I add two more drives to a volume and any one of the 4 drives, be it one of the original or one new, fails, will the volume still be functional and, with data intact, be in a state where I can replace the failed drive? It seems logical that it would but I've had plenty of experience where what was logical wasn't reality and I don't have any spare drives that I can use to test with. I've also read some information that only new data will be written to all 4 drives of this expanded volume, which makes no sense, but again, I couldn't find any proof against it. Clarification will be much appreciated.

Build: FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201512121950
Platform: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 920 Processor
Memory: 4GB
Disk 1: WD Red 3TB
Disk 2: WD Red 3TB

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
The loss of a Vdev, loses your whole pool. So you are thinking correctly.
As far as new data is concerned after adding the second Vdev which is
empty at the beginning AND depending how full your original pool was
before expansion, you could be dealing with a bit of imbalance which
might have a slight effect on performance.
If your OCD is kicking in, you could offload all your files, do the expansion
and then load the files back on