vdev Creation Questions for SSDs and JBOD Setup

Dizzy49

Dabbler
Total newb here. Final parts for my new server come on Monday.
Dell R740, 2x Xeon Gold 6150, 384GB Ram, HBA330, LSI 9207-8e
2x EMC KTN-STL 15x 3.5" Bay

I'm moving from a Windows/Drivepool setup to TrueNAS Scale. Couple questions...

1) When I install apps, like Emby, where is the data stored? Specifically the database, metadata, cache etc. I know I can specify locations for the libraries. Is it same vdev used to install TrueNAS and I can create/specify a dataset for the Emby data?

2) Related to #1. Is there any reason/benefit to having an "OS Drive" vedv that would be two 250GB 970 EVO Plus SSDs mirrored, and then a larger vdev for other data, VM ISOs, etc. Or better to just create the larger vedv and use datasets for the OS, Apps, ISOs, etc

3) Related to #2. I have two 250GB 970 EVO Plus SSDs, and 10x 870 EVO 1TB SSDs. I was going to have a vdev for the OS (mirrored 250GB SSDs), and then split the 10x 1TB SSDs into two groups of 5 and make pool two vdevs with RAIDZ1, then a Striped vdev of the two RAIDZ1 vdevs. That should give me a decent performance/protection balance. I have two other 1TB SSDs, but I felt 6x in a RAIDZ1 might be pushing it, I would even consider it with mechanical drives, but with SSDs... Maybe?

4) How does RAIDZ work with JBOD? Let's say I have 3x 3TB, 3x 4TB, 2x 10TB, 2x 16TB and 6x 18TB and I wanted protection from 3 disc loss. Throw them all in a RAIDZ3 vdev and TrueNAS will figure it out? Split them up to try to make similar sized vdevs? Group them by size in RAIDZ1/2 vdevs and then create a larger Striped vdev with all of the groups? Other/Better options? I am debating putting the 3TB, 4TB and maybe even the 10TB into the second EMC box to use as an onsite backup. Wouldn't be perfect, but maybe make the vdevs easier?