VDEV configuration for 24 SAS-SSD

MisterDeeds

Cadet
Dear all

I am new to TrueNas and would like to replace the Synology systems at our company with TrueNas. The first system I want to replace is a storage which primarily contains virtual machines.

A Supermicro CSE-216 X10DRI-T4+ with 2x Intel Xeon E5-2687WV4 (3,00 GHz) and 384GB Registered ECC DDR4 RAM is used. Also 3x LSI SAS9300-8i storage controller are installed. Thus, each SSD (24x 1.92TB 2.5" Samsung PM1643a SAS SSD) receives the full bandwidth. The controllers are configured as HBA. There are also 2 x Intel XXV710-DA2 (SFP28) network cards installed.

Since the system is home to virutal machines, I naturally want to get the maximum performance. However, I also don't want to lose too much disk space.

Now my specific question. Does it make sense to create just 2 VDEVs with 12 SSDS as RAIDz1? Or are there better configurations for this.
In general, I would be interested to know if there are any other suggestions for improving the system? Does it make sense to install an NVMe cache, for example?

I look forward to your responses.

Thank you and best regards

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Does it make sense to create just 2 VDEVs with 12 SSDS as RAIDz1?

No, please read the resource on block storage.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Does the fact that SSDs are involved change this analysis? I'd kind of think it would, as seeks are pretty much instant, but I know there's a whole lot I don't know here.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Does the fact that SSDs are involved change this analysis? I'd kind of think it would, as seeks are pretty much instant, but I know there's a whole lot I don't know here.

SSD's make seeks less relevant in some ways, but there's other stuff going on that do not directly involve IOPS. For this I will refer to

and just quote verbatim because I don't have the strength to go through this in detail tonite.

---------------------------------------------------