v28 zpool on FreeNAS 9.2.1.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

iSCSIinitiator

Dabbler
Question:

What, if any, are the stability concerns with running a v28 zpool on FreeNAS 9.2.1.6?

Background

I've been running multiple FreeNAS servers for a couple of months now, all with v5000 zpools and all now at FreeNAS 9.2.1.6. I've followed the (very helpful) advice in the forum here and am trying to do all the right things (plenty of ECC RAM, periodic scrubs, etc.). Things are going well so far.

I'm about to set up a new multi-server FreeNAS system which for me will be The Big One - storing lots of important data and acting as a domain controller. The system will be multi-server, as I'll be replicating and rsyncing data to a twin config in another location and a siloed (likely Linux XFS) fail-safe, respectively.

I really want to do everything I can to protect my data and facilitate recovery, should it be necessary. I know I want 9.2.1.6 because the SAMBA 4 DC stuff is critical. However, I also understand that FreeNAS is ahead of many other distributions in its zpool v5000 code base (e.g., hole_birth) and SAMBA 4 integration (e.g., better Windows ACL support) - some of the many reasons I love FreeNAS.

Because of all these factors, I'm contemplating creating a v28 zpool with FreeNAS 8.3.2 and immediately detaching the zpool. Then, on a clean install of FreeNAS 9.2.1.6, I'd auto-import the zpool (but not upgrade it) and then move forward from there.