Using Dual Port 10GBASE-T 10GbE Intel X520-T2 PCI-E Network Adaptor peer to peer and internet

Truenas_User

Cadet
Hi,newbie here so i dont know if this has been asked before
my problem is that i would like to connect a pc to truenas machine by peer to peer using a Dual Port 10GBASE-T 10GbE Intel X520-T2 PCI-E Network Adaptor in each machine.
port 0 on the pc connects to a switch then connects to the internet by a router.
port 1 on the pc connects direct to the truenas to use the 10gbe

truenas connects to the switch

in this configuration it works but i can only download at 1gb as it goes through the switch and to the router
i did have it working once but nobody on my home network could access the shared folders
could anyone help please?
ps sorry if its been asked before.

TrueNAS-12.0-U8.1 Truenas Core
Asus B150 Pro Motherboard
i5 6600k cpu
32gb ram
120gb ssd Boot Drive
5x Ironwolf 4tb hard drives in zfs2
Dual Port 10GBASE-T 10GbE Intel X520-T2 PCI-E Network Adaptor

Last edited by a moderator:

jgreco

Resident Grinch
i can only download at 1gb as it goes through the switch and to the router

This doesn't make sense. Presumably you mean "1Gbps" when you say "1gb"; please don't make up random abbreviations.

The use of the word "download" is also confusing. One typically transfers files to or from a NAS; it's part of your computer's filesystem. It would be like saying "I downloaded this from my hard drive".

If you are trying to say that your traffic is traversing a 1Gbps-capable switch on the way from the NAS to your PC, and is being limited, I don't understand why you've said "and to the router" in the quoted bit.

If you are trying to say that you can only download from the Internet at 1Gbps, that's still better than most people have.