Use multiple SSH clients with one user

petersonguo

Cadet
I'm kind of new to all this networking stuff and I was trying to setup ssh with multiple client systems for one of my users. I have a Windows 10 PC and a Linux Laptop and I am trying to get both of them to access the same user but only the Linux laptop is able to use SSH while the Windows PC says Permission denied (publickey) even though I copied the public key over to the windows system.

I have tried to follow this thread: https://www.truenas.com/community/t...ser-connecting-from-multiple-computers.35906/ but nothing seems to work.

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
What version of TrueNAS?

Samuel Tai

Are you sure? There was no version 12.1 released. The current versions in circulation are 12.0-U8.1 and 13.0. You can find the version in the Dashboard.

Samuel Tai

OK, I think you have the right idea, but the wrong keys. For SSH from different clients, the SSH target needs the public key for the user installed. (This would be pasted into the user's SSH public key field in the Users GUI in TrueNAS.) Each client would then have the private key installed. This makes sense, as the SSH server is considered "public" (pretend it's on the Internet), so the clients would be considered "private".

For the Linux client, the private key goes in ~/.ssh/id_rsa, and ~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub gets copied to the SSH server's ~/.ssh/authorized_keys.

For the Windows client, assuming you're using PuTTY, you'll need PUTTYGEN.exe to convert the private key to PuTTY's PPK private key format, and will use the path for the PPK in PuTTY's Connection->SSH->Auth->Private key file for authentication.

petersonguo

Cadet
Thanks. I will try this. Does truenas have a feature where you can use multiple keys though? I didn’t want to reuse keys and I was thinking I could have something like Github’s key authentication.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Does truenas have a feature where you can use multiple keys though?