USB Install Trouble

Status
Not open for further replies.

gdspeed

Cadet
Let me start out by saying I am an extreme novice. In fact, this is my first attempt with setting up a NAS system. I realize a lot of people seeming post in a forum without reading/searching for other posts or following the user guide. I have tried both and have attempted several different methods of install with no success. I would greatly appreciate any advice or help – if my solution ends up becoming something I missed in viewing this forum or user guide I will be sincerly humbled.

I am running Linux Mint 14 from a clean install on an older white iMac with an Intel processor. I have tried to download both the .iso and .img.cz files of the newest build of FreeNAS (8.3.1-BETA2-x64). I have tried the method explained in the user guide for burning a CD with the .iso and installing to a USB stick. I have also tried to load the .img file directly to a clean USB stick using the 7zip/win32 method and keka/dd method explained in the user guide. I have also tried using different USB sticks (4GB and 8GB) and ports on the computer.

I have no issue loading FreeNAS onto the USB stick (at least I don't think so anyhow). As soon as it loads and reboots the computer immediately rejects the disk. I have tried holding option on the mac, but the USB isn't a recognized device. I have tried to boot using a windows machine (athough it is not my intended NAS machine) and I get an error mounting disk. If I reboot into the system OS and try to mount the USB stick it gives me an "unrecognized device" with an option to reinitialize or format.

Any ideas on how I could try to correctly load the FreeNAS system to my USB stick without comprimising its bootability?

Should I not be using a BETA version?

Do you think I may have better luck with a 32bit release?

I am open to any suggestions.

Thank you.

cyberjock

Inactive Account