Unable to use all physical RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am relatively new to FreeNAS and *nix systems in general.

I have been running a FreeNAS setup for maybe 3 months. I currently have 22 disks totaling 47 TB running in 11, 2 disk mirror pools.

This is strictly a single user, home use scenario, mostly video file storage. Generally reads and writes are done only by one other computer, not multiple simultaneously. While I am not currently seeing any performance issues, I did not notice until recently that only around half of the physically installed ram is being reported by the OS.

I am running (Yes I am aware these are not server components, and yes I am aware that I'm not using ECC ram... moving on):

CPU: AMD Phenom II 1055T Processor (6 core, non black)
MOBO: ASRock 990FX Extreme 9 (Max addressable ram 64 gb)
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws 7-8-7-24 1600 (4 * 4GB)

The motherboard was new for this build, the other components were from one of my previous desktop builds.

The BIOS sees all the ram, the ram all passes memory test. The Web UI reports 8135 MB, running grep -i memory /var/run/dmesg.boot says:

real memory = 9126805504 (8704 MB)
avail memory = 8202178560 (7822 MB)

I took it apart this weekend and tried reseating all the RAM... although I doubted this would work since the BIOS sees it all fine, and the result was the same.

Aside from trying different known working hardware configurations, is there anything else I can try to get access to the other missing 8GB of ram?

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
It's very hard to diagnose this. Your system is so insanely and ridiculously sub-par for this pool, that none of us are going to want to touch this with a ten foot pole, sir.

All I can tell you is that anything can, and does, happen when you run AMD desktop grade stuff, and are generally improperly specced.

Thank you for taking the time to respond.