Unable to GPT format disk ada2 + various issues!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rasmus

Cadet
Hello guys

I'm somewhat new to linux and therefore i need any answers to be in childmode when it comes to explination :)

First of i have 3 HDD named "ada1", "ada2" and "ada3" which i have been setting up a raid5 in CentOS using disk utility. (software raid). Since I couldn't get a samba server up and running and was forced to write on CentOS forum, which I have still gotten no answers on (1 week in), I was told by a friend to look into Freenas.

Looking good i must say.

Now... I have been trying to setup af ZFS volume which first of resultet in error "Unable to GPT format disk ada2". Trying to format ada1 and ada3 made no errors at first.

I then tried to "Quick wipe" disk ada2, but this resulted in error:
Code:
Failure: Failed to wipe ada2p2: dd: /dev/ada2p2: Input/output error 1+0 records in 0+0 records out 0 bytes transferred in 0.819506 secs (0 bytes/sec) 

I then tried Shell code: "gpart show". This didn't show ada2.

I have been reading everywhere on the web including this forum and have tried to do the following:
Code:
sysctl kern.geom.debugflags=0x10
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/ada2

Maybe the above finally, i don't know how i tried "sysctl kern.geom.debugflags=16" also, made me able to do:
Code:
gpart create -s gpt ada2

Now I have created GPT on ada2 and partioned this using:
Code:
gpart add -b 128 -t freebsd-swap -s 4194304 ada2
gpart add -t freebsd-zfs ada2

Finally my "gpart show" is the same on ada1+3 and ada2

I've rebooted and trying to make a volume again, which results in same error as the beginning: "Unable to GPT format disk ada2".

Rebooted again and now i cannot quick wipe any drives. At this very moment i pressed wipe with zeroes on ada1, which is still running.

Maybe i cannot quick wipe since i haven't made sysctl kern.geom.debugflags to "=0x10"?