Hi
I am new to FreeNAS.
I have set up an old HP ML110G5 server with 3 disks
ada0 120G SSD SATA
ada1 1000G SATA
ada2 1000G SATA

FreeNAS 11.2-U2.1 installed fine on ada0
I get error when trying to add pool on ada1 and ada2

Command '('gpart', 'create', '-s', 'gpt', '/dev/ada1')' returned non-zero exit status 1.

I have tried dd and gmirror destroy commands but I get an error all the time

1552005510632.png

The two 1TB disk came from an Openmediavault nas installation and before that a QNAP box.

How do I wipe the disks so I can add a POOL to FreeNAS ?????

What brand of disk?

kaastrup

Dabbler
They are the same brand new Toshiba P300. Its only one of them that has the problem

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Something like gpart destroy -F ada1 doesn't work?

Have you tried a low level HDD diagnostic tool that will work on the Toshiba disks something equivalent to Seagate SeaTools or WD Data Lifeguard? I'm not sure if Toshiba provides something of their own.

kaastrup

Dabbler
I have now connected both disk to a win10 pc and used Toshibas own disk tool to both scan and wipe (zero) out the disk - they work fine in windows and I can format them here as I please...
I think the issue I don't understand is what name has the 2 disks in freenas ???
As I understand and see in Storage-Disk their name is ada1 and ada2, or am I wrong here ???
And every time I use "gpart destroy -F ada1" I get invalid argument on the name "ada1" ???????

How do I see the right names to use in the gpart command ?

I guess the disk does not have any think on them, and I must now use gpart to partition them from scratch - please help !!!!

kaastrup

Dabbler
After confirm create pool I get this - I thought that creating new pool would also partition the blank disks ?????

1552060687144.png

kaastrup

Dabbler
More Info from create pool error;

Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/tastypie/resources.py", line 219, in wrapper