UFS volume Manager reports incorrect size

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ablatem

Cadet
Hello,
I am new to FreeNas. I have installed 9.2.1.7 in a VM on ESXi 5.5. I created a 90 GB virtual disk to use and created a CIFS share so I can see this in Windows 7. In Win 7 I see the share and it indicates I have data there, which should be correct, 6.8 GB.

I added a hard drive as another volume and now when I look at the CIFS share, it shows the status bar as partly blue and indicates there is 6.8 GB of data. This is data I added last night. When I access the share in WIn 7, there is nothing seen - no files at all!

When I look in FreeNas web GUI, I see Used: 8.0 KiB(8%), Available: 78.4 GiB, Size: 85.2 GiB.

Can someone tell me where my 6.8 GB's of data went?

I have tried creating an Ubuntu 14 vm and adding the drive there. That did not work. IN the log, it says something about 'ufs was compiled with read-only support'.

At this point, I have indication that my data is there. I just cannot see anything in the CIFS share.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Rick

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yay.. another person that virtualized FreeNAS. (yes, this is sarcastic)

Keep in mind that UFS is dead to FreeNAS. So anything you setup with UFS is never going to be upgradable to 9.3 when it comes out.

Ablatem

Cadet
Yes, I was testing it and since I didn't have the resources available to me for ZFS and since UFS is a choice I had, that is what I used.
Thanks for the info on UFS.

So, does this mean my 6.8 GB data is gone?

mjws00

Guru
You're up against a few things.

First, you haven't really given much information. You made a 90GB disk and a share. Looks like you copied data there via windows? Then you added another drive as a ufs volume?