TrueNAS Scale - replacing boot pool drive, EFAULT on grub-install

TN22

Dabbler
I'm new to TrueNAS, but not Linux/Debian. I've been running a home-grown Deb 11 iSCSI NAS box for a while, in support of three Xen hypervisors. I need to expand my storage, and decided to look at TN.

I've built a custom lower-power box based on an Asrock J4105 motherboard with 16G of memory. It has two ZFS-mirrored 24GB Intel 313 SSDs for the boot pool (attached via the onboard SATA ports,) plus six 500GB Samsung 860 SSDs configured in a Z2 pool and two mirrored 1TB hard drives connected to an 8-port LSI controller with the 20.00.07 IT firmware.

Before I started using it for real, I wanted to put things through their paces to get a feel for how the processes worked. As a part of that, I pulled one of the boot volume SSDs (sdb) to simulate a failure. When I replaced it with a different, wiped, identical disk and kicked off the drive replace, it seemed to progress but resulted in an error message on the GUI -

Code:
[EFAULT] Command grub-install --target=i386-pc /dev/sdb failed (code 1): Installing for i386-pc platform. grub-install: error: failed to get canonical path of `/dev/replacing-0'.

Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 176, in call_method
    result = await self.middleware._call(message['method'], serviceobj, methodobj, params, app=self)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1293, in _call
    return await methodobj(*prepared_call.args)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 1272, in nf
    return await func(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 1140, in nf
    res = await f(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/middlewared/plugins/boot.py", line 234, in replace
    await self.middleware.call('boot.install_loader', dev)