TrueNAS on a Mac pro 2008

chris2306

Cadet
Hi

I'm new to TrueNAS I used to run everything before off of free Nas but it's been a long time since using it I've got a 2008 Mac Pro it's two Xeon processor and 32Gb of RAM.

My graphics card is an AMD sapphire Radeon R9 270 x OC and around 12 Tb of storage

I'm curious to see if I can install trueNAS on it and i can see that there's instances of FreeNAS being installed but was seeing if I can run that OS

Thanks in advance

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Likely that you can... Darwin OS (which MacOS is based on) shares a common ancestor with TrueNAS: FreeBSD.

The FreeBSD bootloader is likely to work as a result, so good chances to get there... you may or may not need an additional bootloader in front of that to get around the funky Apple BIOS boot process though. (clover or something like that).

Disclaimer: I have not tried this (since I don't have a Mac Pro of that vintage), so can't be 100% sure.

golek

Dabbler
It could probably run. I actually may give it a try for the sake of it. I have a 2009 updated to 2010 MP with 48GB and a Radeon X5600XT running MacOS (opencore) and Windows 10 for gaming. I just started learning trueNAS this week on an old G3220T mini PC. The MP is unfortunately very energy inefficient by todays standards.

golek

Dabbler
I made it work today on my 2009/2010 MacPro. No problems with fans (I do not know how to stress test within TrueNAS so I cannot say for sure).
I heard others on 2008 MacPro got it installed but their fans run at full speed, with some turnarounds.Check this thread Mac Pro (2008) - Fan's Stay At Full Speed

davidbdeath

Dabbler
I've been using TrueNAS on my 2010 MacPro for years now. The latest version requried a GPU to be installed and that fan is loud. Wish I could get it to boot without the GPU.

Arwen

MVP