Time for some proper storage.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdragon75

Wizard
I have been playing with FreeNAS for a few years but I think its finally time to build something faster and bigger while still somewhat low power. This build will also be on the super cheap (except the 12 3TB HGST drives). I know there are much larger builds out there but, this should be more than I need for a long time.

To start, here's the parts list:
  • Supermicro X8SIL-F v1.02
  • i5 560 (will be moving to a Xeon later)
  • 16GB of ECC (Wont work as ecc until I get the Xeon I know)
  • Dell Perc H310 - Fully flashed to the LSI firmware
  • Supermicro CSE-826E1-R800LPB 12 bay 2u chassis
  • QLogic QLE2564 8GB Four Port Fibre Channel HBA (Trying this in target mode for my ESXi Cluster)
  • 12 HGST Ultrastar 3TB 7.2k Drives (2 mirrored disks per vdev should be ~14TB)
  • MAYBE just 10 drives and SSD SLOG & L2ARC drives.

Expect more to come as parts start coming in.

Last edited:

tvsjr

Guru
The X8 gear is getting pretty old... I'd suggest X9 or newer. If you're planning this system to be a VM store, and you want reasonable performance, you *need* an uber-fast, power-loss-protected SSD for SLOG service.

With 16GB of RAM, don't even think about L2ARC.

danb35

Hall of Famer

kdragon75

Wizard
The X8 gear is getting pretty old... I'd suggest X9 or newer. If you're planning this system to be a VM store, and you want reasonable performance, you *need* an uber-fast, power-loss-protected SSD for SLOG service.

With 16GB of RAM, don't even think about L2ARC.

Thanks for the feedback on the L2ARC, as for the SLOG, I have been running lab VMs on 4 7.2k drives in "RAID 10" with 8GB of RAM shared with Plex, Transmission, and a small Minecraft server! I Don't
expect the new system to be blazing fast but it will be less of a joke than my current system.

On the choice of older hardware, its all about cost. All the listed parts (drives aside) will be less than $275USD

kdragon75

Wizard