System almost hangs during scrub or resilver

Status
Not open for further replies.

pbo10

Cadet
Hi

Sorry for the long post but I wanted to try and add as much info as possible. I'm new to FreeNAS and I've only just finished building my first system, I'm currently testing everything out and almost everything is working well but it just seems like there's something not quite right when it comes to heavy work loads and it's very easy to overload the system but I'm not sure why. Basically everything works nicely, I'm getting good file transfer speeds etc, but if I run a scrub for example on the main pool the system will almost completely hang, the web GUI becomes completely unresponsive, the SMB shares drop off and the single jail I have set up which runs a MySQL server becomes unresponsive.

I understand that the scrub is obviously going to be putting quite a lot of stress on the system, but surely not to the point that everything else stops working altogether. I know the scrub continues working in the background and if I wait a few hours everything comes back to life again.

The specs of the system are:
Intel Xeon E3 1225
32GB ECC Memory
Booting from a 120GB SSD

Pool 1
Mirror 2x 500GB SSD

Pool 2
Raid-Z2 with 8 disks, currently a mix of 1TB and 8TB drives (this is only because I was testing with the drives I had available and planned to switch them all out to 8TB later)

Pool 1 is not doing much at this point, it's only there as I had the drives spare already and thought I might as well use it to run jails/backup some important files from my main pool. So the issue happens when I run the scrub on the main pool (pool 2) which at this point is fairly small, due to the 1TB drives in it the total storage space on it is only 5TB and I've loaded about 2.5TB of data on it for now.