BUILD Synology Refugee: Critique my Z-3 Build!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
I have little experience in the matter, I have two data safety things to look into after I buy my NAS: solar flare protection, and offsite backup. I will point out that Faraday cages do not have to be sealed, they can be a mesh, so the paint may not be a problem (though I am not an expert on the subject). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Faraday_cage#mediaviewer/File:Cage_de_Faraday.jpg

When I originally said "EMP Bags" I was talking about something like this: , which claims it is not the same as an ordinary anti-static bag, though I have not taken the time yet to have an opinion of whether this claim is credible, the manufacturer is defending the product: http://www.amazon.com/review/R1WHNV...2PTQ8X5OEQA50&store=industrial#Mx6YXGWUFEH9NA

What would you recommend for solar flare protection? I'm truly at the start of my search and open to ideas.

There is a big difference between a hole of the size of the lid and the holes in a mesh. The size of the holes determines the minimum frequency that can pass right through the faraday cage, the bigger the hole the lower the frequency. From memory the minimum frequency is: Lambda = Hole diameter * 2 (lambda is the wavelength of the frequency) but it's maybe "* 4" instead of "* 2".

I wouldn't trust theses bags until I can test them, they look suspiciously like a simple antistatic bag...